The Japanese NAT-TEST is a standardized test to evaluate the Japanese language proficiency of non-native speakers. The test has 4 difficulty levels (Basic, Lower-Middle, Upper-Middle, Advanced) and consists of 3 components (Vocabulary, Listening, Reading and Grammar). The NAT-TEST is compatible with the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT).

 Importance of NAT test:

As Japanese universities offer higher level education in Japanese language, the students are required to prove that they have Japanese language proficiency in order to apply to universities and colleges. NAT test is compatible with JLPT standard. This exam is held four times a year.

 Test Development

Test questions of the Japanese NAT-TEST are developed by the Test Construction Committee (TC Committee).

1.Three TC Committee members create preliminary test questions individually.

2.Preliminary test questions are reviewed, verified the accuracy and relevance, and organized by editors of the TC Committee.

3.Eight TC Committee members are divided into four groups and each group assembles the first draft prior to the Committee conference.

4.The first draft is reviewed and revised by TC Committee members on the Committee conference and the second draft is created.

5.The second draft is reviewed by the Test Quality Control Committee, which consists of three members, and returned to the TC Committee with their opinions.

6.The TC Committee revises the second draft (Step (4) and (5) are repeated, if necessary) and assembles the third draft.

7.A final proofreading of the third draft is done by editors of the Committee (the final draft is created).


The NAT-TEST fees are 1900 Yen to 2200 Yen. (updated regularly and subject to change)

  • When you take two NAT-TEST tests on the same test day, total fees are doubled.
  • The test fees will not be refunded. However, you can reschedule your test date before you take the test. Please contact your local office.

Testing process

  1. Sign up

Before your application deadline date, please apply for the test. Application for test is completed with a payment of examination fee. It should be noted that the deadline and your application will vary depending on the venue.

  1. Admission ticket.
  2. Examination (test day)

Test until the beginning of

Please come into the test center to set up the time they are written in the admission ticket. As a general rule, morning, tertiary and primary is the test in the afternoon quaternary and secondary. Once in the test center, please follow the instructions of the test supervisor.

For identification

For fair management of the test, then check the identity of the candidate prior to the test in the “Japanese NAT-TEST”. Please answer test supervisor because I listen and date of birth and your name.

During the test

  1. Test will be conducted in the following schedule.
  2. First department “character-vocabulary” (40 minutes)
  3. Break (10 minutes)
  4. (Depends. Grade-times for about 30 minutes) second division “listening”
  5. Break (10 minutes)
  6. Third sector “reading comprehension, grammar” (70 minutes)

After the test is finished

Was cheers for good work. Check if there is any thing left behind, please be careful your return. In addition, you can not bring back the question sheet.

  1. League table-pass card

Pass card



The Japanese-Language Proficiency Test or JLPT, is a standardized criterion-referenced test to evaluate and certify Japanese language proficiency for non-native speakers, covering language knowledge, reading ability, and listening ability.The test is held twice a year in Japan and selected countries (on the first Sunday of July and December), and once a year in other regions (on the first Sunday of December).

The JLPT was expanded to five levels in 2010, characterized as follows:

  • N1: The ability to understand Japanese used in a variety of circumstances
  • N2: The ability to understand Japanese used in everyday situations, and in a variety of circumstances to a certain degree
  • N3: The ability to understand Japanese used in everyday situations to a certain degree
  • N4: The ability to understand basic Japanese
  • N5: The ability to understand some basic Japanese

Pass marks

Passing the test requires both achieving an overall pass mark for the total points, and passing each section individually; these are based on the scaled scores. The sectional scores are to ensure that skills are not unbalanced – so one cannot pass by doing well on the written section but poorly on the listening section, for instance. The overall pass mark depends on the level and varies between 100/180 (55.55%) for the N1 and 80/180 (44.44%) for the N5. The pass marks for individual sections are all 19/60 = 31.67% – equivalently, 38/120 = 19/60 for the large section on the N4 and N5. Note that the sectional pass levels are below the overall pass level, at 31.67% instead of 44.44%–55.55%: one need not achieve the overall pass level on each section. These standards were adopted starting in July 2010, and do not vary from year to year, with the scaling instead varying.

Share this post?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *